Sunshine George Cross Football Club
Sunshine George Cross Football Club
Menu Content
Saturday, 10 March 2007

The club celebrates it's 60th Birthday on Monday 12th March.
Emmanuel "Danny" Gatt, Bill Sandham and Angelo Puli the founders of this great club would not have in their wildest dreams thought that the club would have still been going strong 60 years down the track.

The club has had many successes over the years and obviously the lows that come with being a football club, but with the club on the verge of finalising the sale of Chaplin Reserve the long term future looks safe. Heres to another 60 years !!!
Club historian Victor Brincat has complied a list of club greats which I'm sure will bring memories flooding back for many a fan.

Players who have played a big part at George Cross:

1940's: George Gatt, Baldasere Calleja,

1950's: Tony Vella, Lolly Vella, Hugh McVean, Pat McKenna, Fredd Abela, Franz D'Amato, Paul Zammit.

1960's: Archie Campbell, Fred Falzon, Eddie Sacco, Vince Muscat, Don Hodgson, Billy Copeland, Norm Hobson, David Goldie, Horst Zielenski, Tom McPherson, John McDaid, NickMcCallum,Lothar Kastner, John Sanchez, Billy Armour, Tom Robertson.

1970's: Kevin Walker, Derek Ricks, Dario Epifano, Norm Maitland, Ken Wagstaff, John Howie, Frank McArdle, John Webb, Paul Murphy, Gary Hooper, Billy Wilkinson,Kenny Reed, Robbie Cullen,John Gardiner,Peter Ebini

1980's: Jeff Faulkner, Carl Gilder, Shaun Parton, Sean Keogh, Steve Lawson, Steve Richardson, Ged Bannon, Bobby Toal, Chris Taylor, Roger Bain,John Markovski,Paul Trimboli,Andrew Marth,Ossie Latif,Tyrone James

1990's: Robert Ferla, Damian Mori, John Kanesoulis, Saso Markovski, Ernie Tapai, Gary Hasler, Chris Daglaras, John Waddell, Steve Mangos,Anthony Cassar, Chris Ketsakidis,Kevin Muscat,Craig Foster,Lorenz Kindtner

Baldasere Calleja 1950, 51, 52, 53, 54.
William Belt 1956, 57, 58.
John Gardiner 1985, 86, 87, 88, 89.
Tony Vella 1959, 60, 61, 65, 67, 68, 75, 82, 83.
John Sanchez 1970, 71, 72, 79.
Ken Wagstaff: 1975, 92.
Steve Makone 1964.
Manny Poulakakis 1964.
Billy Wilkinson 1977, 78, 84.
John Waddell 1993, 94.
Willie Vassallo 1995, 96 97.

< Prev   Next >