Sunshine George Cross

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size


E-mail Print PDF

Bendigo City easily won their first encounter against Sunshine George Cross 5-1 in a game that turned in the visitors favour from the moment they were awarded a non-existent penalty-kick midway through the first half.

With the score at 1-1 former Georgie striker George Slefendorfas tripped over Jacob Attard's leg, well after the defender had intercepted the ball back to his goalkeeper.

The referee took a long time to decide and when he pointed to the spot most spectators were amazed with the decision.

Bendigo scored from the spot through Corey Slaven to take a 2-1 lead and within a minute it was 3-1 when the Slefendorfas/Slaven combination struck with Slefendorfas robbing Eddie Cetkin of the ball then finding Slaven for a simple goal.

The Sunshine George Cross defence was still shell-shocked and were still coming to grips with the harsh penalty decision.

Bendigo City took an early lead in this match when the hard working Slefendorfas cleverly played his winger through and his pass was clinically finished off by Slaven.

A mix up in the visitors defence saw the keeper come way off his line and after clashing with a fellow defender the ball dropped to Chris Antoniadis who lobbed it into the empty net from 25 metres.

Trailing 3-1 at the break the Georgies played some good football in the second half and came close to reducing the deficit several times.

The overall physical strength of Bendigo was a telling factor, but credit to the Georgie youngsters for continuing to play a good brand of football.

Slefendorfas was a constant threat in attack scoring two goals, while man of the match Corey Slaven ended up with a fine hat-trick.

Sunshine George Cross 1 (C. Antoniadis) Bendigo City 4 (G. Slefendorfas 2, Corey Slaven 3) at Caplin Reserve

Sunshine George Cross: 1. James KAPURANOVSKI, 2. Eddie CETKIN, 3. Martin MASON, 5. Christopher DIB, 17. Jacob ATTARD,  8. Slaven VRANESEVIC, (14 Ryan DRAGOVIC 66') 9. Bozidar LOJANICA, 13. Christopher ANTONIADIS, (12. Matthew OGHANNA 72'), 10. Adrian LOGOZZO, (16 Nathan LIBERTO 81'), 11. Anthony CASSAR, 4. Brandon SCERRI.
Unused Sub(s): Nemanta LOJANICA, Johanathan HARBOGLOU.