Sunshine George Cross

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size


E-mail Print PDF
JohnJohnathan Harboglou, and Aaron Buttigieg display the President and Vice-President's trophies they were awarded.

The Junior's Presentation Day held on Sunday 23 October was an outstanding success for the club and a credit to the junior committee for the smooth running of this big event. This was not an easy task considering over 600 people were in attendance at the Melrose Reception Centre in Tullamarine. All the juniors were presented with their awards beginning with the under 5-7 up to the under 18 as well as the ladies team. The major team awards in the sub junior is the Championship Shield. This was awarded to Under 5-7's team Atilla Yazar (Coach)  This shield is presented to a SSF team the committee believes has shown respect and dedication.  This Shield was introduced because the Club feels a SSF team should be shown acknowledgement for their efforts. Steven Bonavia Shield: Each year the Junior Committee selects a team they feel has played the game with integrity, pride, spirit, discipline and determination. The Steven Bonavia Shield is in it's 24th year and this year the Shield was awarded to the Under 12 Red Kangaroo's Team coached by Huss Latif and assisted by Ozzie Latif. This presentation was the highlight  of the afternoon with many shedding a tear in remembrance of Steven Bonavia who was tragically taken away from us at a very young age playing his favourite game. The Shield was presented by Steven Bonavia's parents, Helen and Frank and the shield was paraded by the proud winning team around the hall to the stirring Sunshine George Cross club song. In making his choice for the President Award, Junior President Jamie Chetcuti chose a youngster who has natural talent. He was dedicated all season and displayed enthusiam and passion for the game and sport. This player performed exceptionally well this year and Jamie believes this youngster will develop into an outstanding player.  The President's Award this year was awarded to Johnathan Harboglou from the Under 12 Blue Kangaroo's Team. The Vice- President's Award is an encouragement trophy awarded to a player between the ages of 5 & 11 years.  The Vice-Presidents award this year was awarded to a player who is a team player and has shown great sportsmanship.  This player is well respected and overall shows a great enjoyement for the sport.  The Vice-Presidents award this year was awarded to Aaron Buttigieg from the Under 10 Kangaroo's Team. The auctions of several items went very well with Harry Kewell's framed signed shirt bringing the highest price. The Sunshine George Cross Juniors would like to thank their 2011 sponsors, Highpoint Hand Car Wash, Western General Bodyworks and Coskuner Transport. Without the generosity of sponsors our club would not be a success and the Junior Committee would like to thank you for your support. The juniors look forward to an even bigger year in 2012. Photos from this event will be posted in the Junior's Album shortly.
Last Updated on Tuesday, 25 October 2011 16:34